## [Attachment 1]

## What is an Apostille?

Since July 14, 2007, the Republic of Korea has been part of the 1961 Hague Convention abolishing the Requirement of Legalization for Foreign Public Documents. The Convention provides for the use of simplified certification or public documents (including notarized documents) among countries that have joined the convention.

The **Apostille** ensures that public documents issued in one signatory country will be recognized as valid in another signatory country.

NOTE: Newly admitted students from countries which are signatories to the convention must meet the following requirements:

- ① Official certificates (transcripts, diplomas, etc.) from public schools or institutions should be submitted with the attachment of "Apostille".
- ② Official certificates (transcripts, diplomas, etc.) from private schools or institutions, however, should be officially notarized by a notary, agency, or any other authority competent under the law of the country of origin of the certificates, and then, should be submitted with the attachment of "Apostille".

X Signatory Countries for Apostille certificates

Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Barbados, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, China, Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Malawi, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niue, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Sevchelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, ST. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Kitts and Nevis, ST. Lucia, ST. Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of Switzerland, Tonga. America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela

※ For information regarding how to get an Apostille, please refer to the website: 
http://www.hcch.net → Apostille Section